Where’s Your Head?

I’m curious…am I the only person who has so much going on in my head that I don’t even notice that there is no music playing in the car, the TV is not on, and not a man-made sound can be heard, but the noise is still deafening? Does anyone else stand in the shower and think, “Did I even wash my hair?” and then go ahead wash it anyway just in case (for probably the second time)? I wonder to myself, “Where is my head?”….

That was the question I asked myself aloud the other day (chuckling) when I looked in the mirror about 4 hours after my morning shower to discover that, no, I had not rinsed the conditioner out of my hair. And it got me thinking… lol, yes, still inside my head….

What goes on in our minds is powerful. Very powerful. The messages we play over and over again, either positive or negative have a huge impact on our success or (perceived) failures. What goes on in our heads can be the difference between feeling empowered and full of exhilarating energy, or feeling as powerless as if the wind has been taken out of our sails, neither moving forward nor back. When experiencing the latter, we become stagnant in our own mind-prison of fear and anxiety.

You may think that sounds a little dramatic, but it is a truth that I think we can all identify with. I know I can. So let’s throw off those destructive, over-played messages. Let’s band together, knowing that negative reinforcement has never motivated a single person toward their best self. New cheese- your dreams, YOUR POTENTIAL- is beckoning. Mine too! I’ll write more on that later. Until then remember this, “You don’t have to be great to get started. You have to get started to be great.”

One response to “Where’s Your Head?

  1. OMG!!! Yes, yes and yes! Especially the shower scene describes me. I have even wondered….”Did I wash my body off yet?” I have to look at the wet bar of soap and realize…”Yes, I did” I also shampoo my hair most likely a second time….just in case too! I find myself going through the motions and not even realizing what I just did. Sometimes in my car, I look around and realize that I am at my destination and do not recall the drive and hope I didn’t run any lights. But my worst is to pick up my cup of coffee, so looking forward to that wonderful taste oozing down my throat only to realize that I have already drank it! Big bummer!!!

Leave a Reply

